

THE ACCELERATED SCHOOLS

Annual Board Meeting Minutes

Date and Time Wednesday, December 18, 2024 (Unapproved Minutes)

Location

4000 S. Main Street, Los Angeles, CA 90037 (MPR) Teleconference location: TAS 2 – 119 E. 37th Street, Los Angeles, CA 90011

ANNUAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Board Members Present: Lindsay Berz, Leonard Rabinowitz, Larry Picus, Binti Yost

Board Members Absent: Peter Morrison, Brittany Brooks

AGENDA

Meeting Called to Order: 9:44am

Pledge of Allegiance: (Conducted in Regular Board Meeting)

Approval of <u>December 18, 2024</u>, Annual Board Meeting Agenda Motioned: 1st - LR; 2nd - LP Approved

PUBLIC COMMENTS

No Public Comments

BOARD PRESIDENT'S COMMENTS AND REPORTS

- Nominating Committee member discussion
 - Do we need a parent? We are encouraged to have a parent but it is not a requirement.
 - Technically we have three vacancies on the board (possible parent)
 - Can use these vacancies to support school needs.
- Discussion of Corporate Officers, Board Members, and Board Member Terms
 - Proposal to appoint Berz and Brooks as Board Trustees
 - No need for a 1-year category

- Staggered Board Trustee terms
- Appointment of Trustees and Appointment of Corporate Officers
 - O Lindsay Berz: 2-year term
 - Brittany Brooks 1 year team
 - Motion: 1st: LR; 2nd LP
 - Approved
- Appointments of Corporate Officers for a term of December 2024 December 2025 (1st: LR, 2nd: LP)
 - o President: Leonard Rabinowitz
 - Vice President: Peter Morrison
 - o Chief Executive Officer: Jesse Melgares
 - Treasure: Debbie Kukta, Chief Business Officer
 - Secretary: Lenita Lugo, Director of Access, Equity, and Compliance
 - Motion: 1st: LR; 2nd LP
 - Approved
- Election of Trustee- Board Committees and Board Committee members
 - The Board will consider establishing the following committees with the following memberships
 - Academic Excellence
 - Larry Picus, Chair
 - Jesse Melgares
 - Mairin Finn
 - Audit Committee
 - Binti Yost, Chair
 - Lindsay Berz
 - Debbie Kukta
 - Finance Committee
 - Larry Picus, Chair
 - Leonard Rabinowitz,
 - Binti Yost
 - Debbe Kukta
 - Governance Committee
 - Leonard Rabinowitz, Chair
 - Peter Morrison
 - Jesse Melgares
 - Nominating Committee
 - Leonard Rabinowitz, Chair
 - Binti Yost
 - Peter Morrison
 - Motion: 1st: LR; 2nd BY
 - Approved

ADJOURN: 9:59am